CIER logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIER Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No numerical CIER pass rate is publicly disclosed, and no 2026 rate has been verified from any official source.
  • ACAC's 2025 activity report shows dashes, not zeros, for CIER applicants and pass ratio.
  • The published pass mark is 75% on 100 multiple-choice questions, set using the Modified Angoff method.
  • Eligibility screening, including four project sheets, filters candidates before they ever sit the exam.

Why No Published CIER Pass Rate Exists

Candidates searching for a Council-certified Indoor Environmental Remediator pass rate usually want one number: the percentage of test-takers who pass on the first try. Here is the plain answer. That number is not publicly available in any report retrieved from the issuer, the American Council for Accredited Certification (ACAC), and no 2026 figure has been verified.

This matters because many exam-prep pages fill the gap with confident-sounding percentages. If a page states a CIER pass rate without naming a dated ACAC document, treat it with skepticism. This article explains what the available public data does and does not say, so you can calibrate your preparation without relying on a number that may not exist.

Scope note: "CIER" in this article means the Council-certified Indoor Environmental Remediator credential issued by ACAC's CIER Certification Board and accredited by the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB). Other credentials share the acronym; none of their statistics apply here.

What ACAC's Activity and Pass-Ratio Reports Actually Show

ACAC publishes two documents that candidates often hope will contain a pass rate. Both were checked for this article, and neither yields a usable CIER figure.

  1. Accredited Certification Activity (as of December 31, 2025). The CIER row shows dashes for applicants, pass ratio and recertifications, and lists 0 current certifications.
  2. 2025 Exam Pass Ratio report. CIER does not appear in this report at all.

Absence from a report and a dash in a column are not the same as a low pass rate. They are gaps in disclosure. Neither document gives a numerator or denominator you could turn into a percentage, and neither should be quoted as one.

SourceWhat it shows for CIERCan it support a pass rate?
ACAC Accredited Certification Activity, as of Dec. 31, 2025Dashes for applicants, pass ratio and recertifications; 0 current certificationsNo
ACAC 2025 Exam Pass Ratio reportCIER not listedNo
CIER Candidate Handbook and Study GuideExam format, passing score, competency headings; no pass statisticsNo
Third-party prep listings (Docsity, Stuvia, eBay flashcards)Study material; no verified outcome dataNo

A Dash Is Not a 0% Pass Rate

The most common misreading of ACAC's activity report is treating the "0 current certifications" line as evidence that nobody passes, or that the credential is dead. That inference is not supported. A dash in a statistics column means the figure was not reported. It does not mean zero people passed, and it does not mean zero people took the exam.

Likewise, the zero current-certification count does not establish that the credential has been discontinued. ACAC continues to publish a CIER handbook, an application page with project-sheet instructions, a recertification procedure and a fee schedule. Those are the signs of a credential that is administratively listed, even if public activity statistics are sparse. For a deeper look at whether the credential suits your career plans, see Is the CIER Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

How to read it: The honest summary is "no verified rate," not "low rate" and not "high rate." Anyone claiming either is going beyond the evidence.

The Numbers That Are Published

While the pass rate is undisclosed, the exam's structural parameters are public. These are the figures you can rely on, drawn from ACAC's handbook and fee pages:

ParameterPublished detail
Question count100 multiple-choice questions, each with at least four answer options
Time allowedThree hours, computer-delivered, closed book
Passing score75%, set using the Modified Angoff method
Scored vs. unscored splitNot published
Practical assessmentNone described
Examination fee$100
Certification fee$400, including a $100 nonrefundable processing fee
Initial two-year term total$500
Retake$100
Renewal$400

The Modified Angoff method deserves a short explanation because it bears on how to interpret difficulty. In an Angoff-style standard setting, subject-matter experts judge, item by item, how a minimally competent candidate would perform, and those judgments are aggregated into the cut score. The 75% threshold is therefore a defined competency standard rather than a curve against other candidates. Your result does not depend on how everyone else performs that day. For the mechanics of the cut score, see CIER Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for the full cost picture see CIER Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Reading Difficulty From the Exam's Design

Without a pass rate, the next best evidence is the exam's design. Several features suggest where the difficulty comes from, though none can be converted into a percentage.

  • Closed book with a broad regulatory base. The listed references span federal asbestos, lead, hazardous-waste and respirator material. You cannot look anything up during the exam.
  • A 75% bar. Candidates can miss one in four questions, but with five distinct disciplines in scope, a weak area can consume that margin quickly.
  • Fixed question set, randomized order. The handbook describes a fixed set with randomized question and answer order, so you cannot rely on question sequence or position patterns.
  • No adaptive testing described. Difficulty does not shift based on your answers; you face the same style of item throughout.
  • Immediate electronic scoring. Scores are available right after the exam and confirmed by email, so you learn the outcome the same day.

For a candid breakdown of what makes the exam demanding, read How Hard Is the CIER Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Struggle

ACAC's study guide lists five competency headings. These are unweighted issuer competencies used as preparation topics. They do not establish an official exam-domain count or official percentage weights, and no highest-weighted area could be identified. What is stated is that each competency addresses engineering controls, cleaning and removal methods, worker safety and applicable regulations. That shared pattern is the best clue to how questions are framed.

Domain 1: Asbestos remediation in the indoor environment

Expect regulation-driven content tied to the listed asbestos references.

  • 40 CFR 763 and 40 CFR 61 Subpart M (NESHAP)
  • 29 CFR 1926.1101, the OSHA construction asbestos standard
  • Engineering controls, removal methods and worker protection

Domain 2: Lead remediation in the indoor environment

Lead questions draw on both the EPA and OSHA frameworks.

  • 40 CFR 745 for lead-based paint requirements
  • 29 CFR 1926.62, the OSHA construction lead standard
  • Containment, cleanup methods and exposure control

Domain 3: Hazardous materials remediation in the indoor environment

The broadest and least predictable area, because it overlaps with several reference sources.

  • 29 CFR 1910.120 (HAZWOPER)
  • Mercury-response material, with an unresolved source discrepancy in ACAC's own documents
  • EPA Voluntary Guidelines for Methamphetamine Laboratory Cleanup

Domain 4: Microbial contaminants and allergens in the indoor environment

Anchored by a municipal guideline rather than a federal regulation.

  • NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Guidelines on Assessment and Remediation of Fungi in Indoor Environments (2008)
  • Source control, containment, cleaning and worker safety

Domain 5: Chemicals in the indoor environment

Ties together exposure, toxicology and protective equipment.

  • NIOSH Respirator Selection Logic (2004)
  • Chemical hazard recognition, controls and cleanup methods

One caution: the study guide itself warns that its selected pages are examples, not exhaustive coverage, and advises comprehensive study of the references. Reference-publication dates are not exam-version dates, and no separately identified 2026 exam version was verified. For a full walk-through of each area, see CIER Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Documentation inconsistency to know about: ACAC's materials describe the mercury reference two ways, as EPA Region 5 (section 5) in one place and the National Elemental Mercury Response Guidebook (section 9.4) in another. Study the mercury topic from both so a differently worded question does not catch you off guard.

The Real Filter: Eligibility Before the Exam

A pass rate computed only among people who sit the exam would reflect a pre-screened group. CIER's application stage does a lot of that screening. You cannot simply register and test; you must be approved first.

The prerequisites combine education and documented field experience:

  • A related two-year postsecondary degree, or 15 qualifying college credits, plus at least one year of documented indoor environmental remediation experience; or
  • A high school diploma or GED plus two years of such experience.

The experience must cover at least two of five areas: asbestos, lead, hazardous materials, microbial/allergens, and IH/chemicals/toxicology. Applicants submit four project sheets, applicable educational evidence and experience verification. ACAC's FAQ describes each project sheet as the problem, the applicant's own responsibilities and actions, and the outcome, and it requires actual field experience.

The application itself carries timing rules that candidates should plan around. The current application page specifies online submission, required email verifications, six months to finish the process including the exam, and unanimous board approval, with the board meeting every four to six weeks. The handbook instead says 90 days and describes notarized forms and employer affidavits. That conflict between ACAC's own documents is unresolved, so confirm current requirements directly with ACAC before you start. Details on qualifying are in CIER Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and scheduling considerations are covered in CIER Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Key Takeaway

Because candidates must already hold field experience across at least two disciplines and survive board review, the people who reach the exam are not a random sample. That is one more reason a raw pass percentage, even if one existed, would say little about your odds.

How to Vet Pass-Rate Claims From Prep Sellers

The CIER search landscape includes public listings on Docsity, Stuvia and an eBay flashcard seller, alongside ACAC's own handbook. The commercial listings sell study material; none of them is an issuer, and none provides verified pass statistics. When you see a claim like "95% of our users pass," apply a short checklist:

  1. Does it name the exact credential? Confirm the listing refers to the Council-certified Indoor Environmental Remediator from ACAC, not another credential sharing the acronym.
  2. Is the number dated and sourced? A real statistic cites a report and a date. Vague percentages are marketing.
  3. Does the content map to the five competencies? Previews on some listings mention mold, asbestos, lead and chemical material, but full alignment with the complete reference list is unverified. One listing uses generic professional-process scenarios with weak demonstrated alignment to the exact exam.
  4. Do the questions tie to the actual regulations? Good material references 40 CFR 763, 29 CFR 1926.62 and the other listed sources, not just generic safety language.
  5. Does the policy fit? ACAC does not develop or administer preparation courses, and no mandatory prep course or training-hour minimum is published. No CIER-specific offering was listed on ACAC's prep-course page when reviewed.

If you want original practice questions with explanations tied to the exam's content areas, try the CIER practice tests on the main site, and review how to structure your preparation in CIER Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Sequencing Prep Around the Five Domains

Since no domain weights are published, a sensible plan treats the five areas as roughly equal and front-loads whichever ones overlap least with your own field background. Because the application already requires experience in at least two areas, you probably have a head start in some domains and a gap in others. Spend more time where your project sheets are thinnest.

Weeks 1-2

Regulation-heavy domains: asbestos and lead

  • Work through 40 CFR 763, 40 CFR 61 Subpart M and 29 CFR 1926.1101
  • Cover 40 CFR 745 and 29 CFR 1926.62 for lead
  • Reason: dense citations reward early, repeated exposure
Weeks 3-4

Hazardous materials and chemicals

  • Study 29 CFR 1910.120, mercury material from both described sources and the meth-lab cleanup guidelines
  • Add NIOSH Respirator Selection Logic to connect worker protection across domains
Week 5

Microbial contaminants and allergens, then full review

  • Read the NYC fungi guidelines closely
  • Take timed practice sets of 100 questions in three hours to build pacing

A final reference sheet helps lock in the highest-yield citations; the CIER Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful companion.

Exam-day logistics that affect your result

Small administrative details can cost points before you read a single question. Testing-center candidates need two government-issued IDs, including one photo ID. ACAC's Examinations page says to arrive 15 minutes early, while the handbook says 30, so plan for the longer window. Online proctored delivery requires your own computer, an approved webcam, a private location and at least 2 Mbps upload and download speeds; phones and tablets are excluded. Calculator permission is unverified, so do not assume one will be allowed, and prepare to work any calculations by hand.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CIER pass rate for 2026?

No numerical CIER pass rate has been publicly disclosed in the retrieved ACAC reports, and no 2026 rate has been verified. ACAC's activity report shows dashes for the pass ratio, and CIER is absent from the 2025 Exam Pass Ratio report. Any specific percentage you see elsewhere should be treated as unverified.

Does a dash in ACAC's report mean a 0% pass rate?

No. A dash means the figure was not reported. It does not mean zero candidates passed or zero candidates tested. The same applies to the 0 current certifications line, which does not by itself prove the credential has been discontinued.

What score do I need to pass the CIER exam?

The passing score is 75%, set using the Modified Angoff method. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions with at least four answer options each, delivered by computer over three hours, closed book. The split between scored and unscored questions is not published. See the CIER pass rate overview for how this fits with the missing statistics.

What happens if I fail the exam?

The published retake fee is $100. Scores are available electronically right after the exam, so you will know the result immediately. Confirm current retake timing and any waiting rules with ACAC, as those details were not part of the verified material for this article.

Is the CIER exam the hardest part of getting certified?

Not necessarily. The application stage requires four project sheets, educational evidence, experience verification across at least two of five disciplines, and unanimous board approval. Many candidates find assembling documented field experience as demanding as the 100-question test itself. For earnings context after you qualify, see the CIER salary guide, which explains why no credential-specific earnings premium has been verified.

The bottom line: treat the missing pass rate as a reason to prepare thoroughly, not as a signal either way. The exam's published structure, the five competency areas and the 75% standard give you everything verifiable. Build your plan around those, and verify current fees, timing and renewal rules directly with ACAC before you apply.

Ready to pass your CIER exam?

Put this into practice with free CIER questions across every exam domain.